Saving a mailbox before deletion

Saving a mailbox before deletion

Overview

Whilst it is best practice to delete the mailboxes of councillor when they leave, under certain circumstances, you may wish to keep access to the mailbox before deleting it. This method will provide access to the mailbox in a shared mailbox in another users account. 

Method

  1. Set up a shared mailbox with name_archive and select "only Moderators" to send emails to this.

  2. Add the person needing access to the shared mailbox e.g. the clerk as the moderator.   

  3. Reset the mailbox password for the mailbox that you are deleting.  In a new browser, go into the account and allow IMAP access.
  4. Go back to the admin dashboard, go to Data Migration and create a new data migration.

  5. Click add

  6.  Click create.

  7.  Now add "users"

  8.  Add the details as indicated and click add

  9.  Click, Start Migration.
  10.   Once you've done this, check in the shared folder that the emails have migrated and then you can delete the old mailbox.